A Symbol of Boldness...

- Advertisement -

Karnataka CM Resigns: Know Which BJP Leaders Stand To Be BS Yediyurappa’s Successor



- Advertisement -

Bengaluru: Putting an end to the speculations, BS Yediyurappa has resigned from the post of Karnataka’s Chief Minister. His resignation has been accepted by the state governor Thawar Chand Gehlot.

“It has been an honour to have served the state for the past two years. I have decided to resign as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. I am humbled and sincerely thank the people of the state for giving me the opportunity to serve them,” he wrote on Twitter.

“I am grateful to PM Narendra Modi Ji, JP Nadda Ji, and Amit Shah Ji for their support,” he added.

ALSO READ | Karnataka CM BS Yeddiyurappa Condoles Actress Jayanthi’s Death

Karnataka Minister K Sudhakar shared his response over CM Yediyurappa stepping down, saying: ” It was a surprise for me. He told me that he may receive a favorable decision from the high command by July 26. But we all have to abide by the norms of the party. He is only quitting CM post, not active politics”. 

A meeting of top BJP leadership including president JP Nadda and Amit Shah was held to reach a decision over who gets to be BS Yediyurappa’s successor.

The prominent candidates being considered for the post of Chief Minister include Pralhad Joshi, BL Santosh, Lakshman Savadi and Murugesh Nirani, sources had said earlier this week.

Meanwhile, A Times of India report quoted sources as saying that the BJP has shortlisted eight persons for the Chief Minister’s post. Most probably a Lingayat will be picked to take forward Yediyurappa’s legacy in the state.

“Dharwad West MLA Aravind Bellad, Vijayapura MLA Basannagouda Patil Yatnal, Karnataka Mines and Geology Minister Murgesh R Nirani and Basavaraj Bommai may get a chance as they belong to Panchamasali Lingayat community,” TOI reported.

Currently, Geology Minister Murgesh R Nirani is racing ahead of other candidates under consideration for the post of Karnataka Chief Minister, sources told ABP News.

Earlier in the day, the BJP functionary in Karnataka reportedly said that they will accept if leadership nominates anyone who is not from the Lingayat community but the decision might harm the party’s position in the state. This is important as Yediyurappa has a huge support base from the Veerashaiva-Lingayat community and All India Veerashaiva Mahasabha.

“Yeddyurappa Ji is Chief Minister. Yet if anyone gets any chance except the Lingayat community, then everyone will accept it. But it may harm BJP,” news agency ANI quoted a senior BJP leader from Karnataka as saying on a condition of anonymity.

(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More