‘100% Vegetarian’: Cadbury After Twitterati Claim ‘Beef Gelatine’ Used For Chocolates In India


After much hullaballoo about the “usage of beef”, the chocolate manufacturing giant Cadbury issued a statement urging people to double-check facts before spreading them. In an online rage, a screenshot suggesting the company uses “gelatine from Halal Certified beef” in several of its items went popular on the Indian social media sphere over the weekend.  

“The screenshot shared in the tweet is not related to Mondelez/Cadbury products manufactured in India. All the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper signifies that,” said the British multinational company.

READ | Union IT Minister Calls Media Report On Pegasus Project ‘Highly Sensational’, Says ‘Over-The-Top Allegations Made’

Cadbury also made a point about how unfavourable comments might harm the company’s reputation. It went on to describe how such instances can undermine consumer trust in their “well-respected and loved brands.”

It also asked customers to double-check the information about the products before spreading it.


After hundreds of users on Twitter called for a boycott of Cadbury products, the chocolate firm, which is owned by Mondelez International, issued a statement.

A screenshot from a website claiming that if a product has gelatine as an ingredient, it was obtained from beef, was extensively circulated on social media, prompting their boycott demand.


Cadbury Dairy Milk tweeted its clarification and responded to Twitter users as the screenshot and comments on the problem grew rapidly. Some readers even noted that the image was taken from Cadbury Australia’s website. 

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button