England Announce Their 17 Member Squad For First Two Tests Against India | See Full Squad


London: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced a 17-member squad for the first two Test matches against India. The first match is to be played at Trent Bridge from August 4, while the second will be played at Lord’s. 

Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes and Sam Curran who had missed the Tests against New Zealand are back in the side. Haseeb Hameed is also named in the side. 

Take a look at the full squad below –

England Men’s Test Squad: Joe Root (Captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood. 

India has already announced a 25-member squad for the England series. Two players, Shubman Gill and Avesh Khan are likely to be rule out of the series due to injury concerns.

The five-match Test series between England and India will start from August 4. Before the start of the Test series, the Indian camp has come under the grip of Covid-19. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has so far ruled out any changes in the series after the covid positive cases. ECB also informed that despite corona cases, a strict bio bubble will not be created for the India vs England Test series.

Currently, India is playing a practice Test match against County Select XI. Avesh Khan and Washington Sundar are the two Indian players who are playing in the County Select side. 

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance). 

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button